Food on the table

Last week I had the opportunity to work the Missouri Beef Industry Council on their Feeding Missouri initiative. It was a statewide food drive, and for every pound of food donated a pound of beef or dairy products will be donated by the Beef Council.

As we handed out fliers in the grocery store two thoughts crossed my mind:

1. I was shocked at how many people said, “not interested,” or refused to even take our flier. I am thankful that I was raised by people that taught me the importance of giving back. Through 4-H, community organizations and college groups the importance of giving back to your community was always emphasized. I am thankful that my parents constantly reminded me to say thank-you. I am thankful that I grew up in an agriculture community because I know that crops can be destroyed in a moment by a hail storm and a dead bloated calf is a lot of money of out your pocket. However, no matter how low you and your family fall, your agriculture friends will never say “not interested.”

2. I am thankful that I am in a position to give. There are a lot more people that need some sort of assistance these days, and I can help ease the burden. It is amazing how much food can be bought with $10. Agriculture has blessed me with friends, experience and monetary rewards, and I want to pass on some of the to others.

I hope during this holiday season, as we are stuffing ourselves with more food that we could imagine, remember that some peoples pantries might be a little more bare.

Crystal Young is an active Agvocate, Agblogger, and cattlewoman. Find Crystal on Twitter and be sure to ask her more about great ways to be active in sharing the great story of Agriculture.

Thank you Crystal for sharing why you are Thankful for Agriculture! Stay tuned the whole month of November to read why many others are Thankful for Agriculture. What about you? Leave a comment below or send me a message (agricultureproud@hotmail.com) to find out how to share your story!